Tags

Apple Cinnamon Granola

I am a huge fan of granola.  I eat it most mornings for breakfast, sprinkle it over some yogurt for my afternoon snack, and grab it by the handful when I am passing by the pantry.  I throw together a batch of the stuff every weekend using whatever seeds, nuts, and dried fruit I can find in the pantry.  It is really easy to make, and wonderfully fragrant in the oven, leaving my kitchen smelling like a cinnamon stick. This is my favorite granola recipe, but I have many other combos that I use, so feel free to experiment with different nuts and dried fruit. If you are a granola lover but have never made it at home, I think you will be surprised how simple and delicious it is.  Try this recipe and you just may never eat granola out of a cardboard box again.

Granola nuts and seeds

Apple Cinnamon Granola

  • 5 cups rolled oats
  • ¾ cup raw sunflower seeds
  • ¾ cup raw pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
  • ¾ cup pecans, coarsely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 large apple
  • ¼ cup walnut oil
  • ½ cup maple syrup
  • ½ cup whole flax seeds
  • 1 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 325°.  Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a large bowl, combine the rolled oats, sunflower seeds, pepitas, pecans, cinnamon and salt.  Core and coarsely chop the apple.  Place the apple, walnut oil, and maple syrup in a food processor and pulse until it is the consistency of apple sauce.  Pour the apple mixture over the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly until the oats and nuts are coated.  Spread the mixture out evenly onto the lined baking sheet.  Bake for 25, remove from the oven and stir, bake for 15 more minutes.  Remove the granola from the oven, and sprinkle the flax seed and cranberries over the top and stir again.  Let cool completely before eating or storing.  The granola can be kept for a few weeks in an airtight container, but I seriously doubt it will last that long, mine never does!

