Last winter was my first winter in Canada.  I spent the majority of five months complaining about the cold weather and snow.  I stayed inside, ran hundreds of miles on my basement treadmill, and cooked and ate a lot. 

I can happily say that this winter has been much better.  I have gotten to a point where my expectations are adjusted.  I now think that any day that the temperature climbs above freezing is great, and anything above about 20°F requires only a light jacket.  I have actually started to enjoy being outdoors in the snow.  Spending an afternoon ice skating on a frozen pond with Minda is now something I really look forward to.  I still run in my basement most days, but yesterday I was able to go for my first run outside since having Kaya.  I ran out of the front door and through the neighborhood before reaching a snow lined path along a frozen lake overlooking the mountains in the distance.  A half hour later I was at the playground, meeting Matt and the girls.  On days like this I am filled with a deep gratitude for the opportunity we have been given to spend some time in a new place, and to experience all there is here, even if that means braving the cold and snow.

I once heard a quote that said something along the lines that happiness is living without expectations.  I really do believe that this is true.  I can now celebrate the winter, and even on the coldest winter days, I enjoy staying inside baking.  What better to mix into my recipes than pomegranates, just another reason to look forward to winter time.  I like them fresh sprinkled over a salad for some awesome texture, or baked into these yummy bran muffins that are great for breakfast or a post run snack.

 

Pomegranate Bran Muffins

1 cup soy milk

1/4 cup grapeseed oil

1/8 cup molasses

1 egg

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 cup wheat bran

1¼ cups whole wheat flour

1/8 cup organic evaporated cane juice sugar

¼ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ cup pomegranate seeds

Preheat oven to 375°F. Brush a 12 cup muffin pan with oil or line with paper liners.  In a large bowl whisk milk, oil, molasses, egg, and vanilla until well mixed.  In a medium bowl, whisk together bran, flour, sugar, salt, and baking soda.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until it is all well combined.   Stir in pomegranate seeds.  Divide the batter among muffin cups.  Bake 15-20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool for 5 minutes in the muffin tin before serving warm or transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.

 

