I had a really great time watching the Super Bowl this past weekend, even though I was kinda rooting for the Patriots. Super Bowl Sunday has got to be the one day of the year that being a couch potato is acceptable behavior, and I bask in the opportunity to sit around watching TV and grazing for a few hours.   I made my Game Day Chili and some smoky and spicy hummus with fresh veggies.  Since both are reasonably healthy, I was able to indulge without feeling too guilty.

This recipe for hummus is pretty typical, but it has a little extra kick from some dried chipotle pepper.  I served mine with carrots, celery, bell peppers, and whole grain pita crackers.  It was gobbled up, and even got the toddler stamp of approval. 

 

Smoky Chipotle Hummus

1 15oz can chickpeas drained

¼ cup fresh squeezed lemon juice

2 tablespoons tahini

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon paprika

½ teaspoon sea salt

¼ teaspoon dried chipotle flakes

 

Place everything in a food processor and pulse until the hummus the desired consistency; I like mine a little chunky.  Use as a dip for your favorite crispy veggies, serve on flatbread, or use as a sandwich spread.

