Friday is here, and I am glad this week is ending since we have had a run of bad luck the past couple of weeks.  Minda sliced her fingertip off on a mandoline, our 13 year-old toy fox terrier, Bambi, had to have one eye removed, and both Minda and Matt have been battling a really nasty cold.  On top of all of this Kaya turned 3 months old, and is going through a growth spurt where she wakes up every couple of hours at night for feedings.  Needless to say I am exhausted.  I am in need of some serious R&R in the form of retail therapy, so I am getting ready to make like Robin Sparkles and go to the mall.

As much as I love shopping it always makes me so hungry. I don’t want to get stuck eating some lousy Greek food at the food court (why does this ever seem like a good idea?), so today I planned ahead and made a batch of these snack balls to throw in my purse before I head out the door. They are pretty tasty, and I know they will give me the energy to shop for hours. I really hate to even call it a recipe because they seriously have like 4 ingredients.  This “recipe” can be modified too to use whatever dried fruit and nuts you like.

Raw Date and Almond Snack Balls

  • 10 Medjool Dates, pitted
  • 1/2 cup whole raw almonds
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoon toasted sesame seeds, unsweetened coconut flakes, or both for rolling the balls in

Put the dates, almonds, and cinnamon in a food processor and pulse until the almonds are coarsely chopped and everything comes together in a sticky ball.  Pull off a small piece and form into a golf ball sized ball.  Roll in the sesame seeds or coconut to keep the outside from being sticky.  Continue the process until all of the mixture is used up.  Keep balls in a zip top sandwich bag with you at all times for a quick and healthy snack.

