Lately I am so comfortable with my daily routine that I am afraid I am getting into a rut.  I used to thrive on newness and adventure, but since having another baby, I am weary about switching up our routine, fearful of the effect it may have on her.  This has carried over into my food life as well. You may already know that I have an ongoing love affair with carrot soup. It is one of my favorite recipes, and the very first thing I posted when I started this blog.  I make it EVERY SINGLE WEEK. And while I do really love my carrot soup, I was feeling a bit uninspired this week as I was standing in front of the fridge staring at my bag of carrots, so I strayed.  I instead made this lovely and creamy soup with butternut squash, pear, and pepitas. When I scooped it into Matt’s bowl, I got a strange look followed by “UMMM..What is this?  It isn’t carrot soup!?”  I am not sure if he was surprised or relieved, but after a bite he said it was really tasty and different.  I know that this change in routine may seem rather insignificant, but it is small changes like this can change our attitudes toward venturing out and trying more new things.

 

Roasted Butternut and Pear Soup with Pepitas

1 medium butternut squash

2 d’anjou pears

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

2 shallots, finely diced

1 inch nob of ginger, peeled and finely diced

¼ cup pepitas

¼ cup dry white wine

3 cups vegetable stock

Salt and fresh ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 400°F.  Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.  Cut the butternut squash in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds.  Cut the pears in half lengthwise and scoop out the core.  Place the squash and pears on the baking sheet flesh up and drizzle with 1 tablespoon of the olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Turn the squash and pears flesh side down and roast for 30 minutes.  Remove the pears from the oven and set aside.  Return the squash to the oven to roast for an additional 30 minutes.

While the squash is finishing up, heat the extra tablespoon of olive oil in a stockpot over medium heat.  Add the shallots, ginger and pepitas, cook stirring frequently for 2 minutes.  Add the wine to the pan and scrape the bottom to deglaze.  Add the stock, bring to a boil, cover and reduce heat to low to simmer.

When the squash is finished roasting remove from the oven and let cool for five minutes.  With a tablespoon, scoop the flesh of the pears out of the skin and place in a blender, and then do the same with the squash.  Add the stock mixture to the blender and puree until smooth and creamy except for some small peices of pepitas.  Return the soup to the pot and season with salt and pepper.  Let everything simmer covered for about 10 minutes before serving hot.

