Tags

, , , , , ,

We spent the past weekend in Invermere, BC.  Matt had arranged a trip in Panorama, and I decided that it would be nice for me and the girls to tag along for the adventure.  Preparing to travel with two small children and a couple of dogs is no easy task, but after loading up the truck with what appeared to be enough stuff for a two-week trip, we were on our way.

We stopped along the way to stretch and do a short hike at Johnston Canyon in Banff National Park.  We had done the hike to the falls several times in the past, but this was the first time we made the trip in the winter.  I had been so stressed about preparing for the trip that I started the trip in a terrible mood, but as I made my way up the canyon the stress immediately melted away.  I was completely mesmerized by the enormous sheets of icicles clinging to the canyon walls, the pillows of snow covering the creek, and the icefalls landing in a pool of turquoise water. 

  

After the hike we drove a couple more hours through Kootenay National Park before descending into the Columbia Valley and arriving in Invermere.  We were all starving and exhausted, so we ordered pizza from a local restaraunt, Peppi’s Italian Fuel, that had been highly recommended.  We ordered the Rocket, a veggie pizza with arugala, spinach, roasted peppers, and feta stuffed japs.  Thankfully, Peppi’s did not disappoint, it was delicous!

On Saturday morning Matt headed up to Panorama for heliskiing, and the girls and I set out for some shopping.  We did not have to venture very far.  The condo we were staying in had an amazing natural foods store on the street level.  While most girls like to shop for clothes, I love gourmet food (go figure).  We were in heaven sampling the local made granola and apple cider, and browsing the assortment of loose teas.  We also saw a group of deer running around town.

After a bit of shopping we had to get ready for an apres ski dinner party we were attending that night.  I volunteered to bring a couple of dishes including my favorite Chipotle Dark Chocolate Bark, a salad, and roasted acorn squash that I tossed in adobo and lime and topped with cilantro and chipotle peppers.  I am so spoiled using a convection oven that I forgot to flip my squash, so it burned on one side.  When I took it out of the oven I was thinking there is no way I can serve this burnt food to my friends, but after one bite, I knew I had to!  I have other recipes for acorn squash, but this one takes the prize!  It had lots of depth of flavor, and a little spice from the chipotle peppers. 

Overall it was a great weekend.  We are always feeling like we are racing against the clock to see and do everything around Calgary since we are here on a temporary basis, and never know when we will be asked to move home.  This weekend we were able to cross a couple of experiences off of our list, and now we cannot stop dreaming about our next trip.  We are thinking a road trip to Vancouver by way of Kelowna, or maybe a trip up to Jasper or Waterton.  So much to see, so little time…

 

Adobo-Lime Acorn Squash-adapted from Williams-Sonoma New Flavors for Vegetables

1 can chipotle chilis in adobo

3 limes

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon fresh cracked pepper

4 small acorn squash

1 handful fresh cilantro leaves

Preheat oven to 400° F.  Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a large bowl whisk together the juice from one of the limes, two tablespoons of adobo sauce from the can of chipotles, the olive oil, salt and pepper.  Cut the acorn squash in half lengthwise, scoop out the seeds, and cut into wedges along the natural lines of the squash.  Place the squash wedges into the bowl with the sauce and toss to coat.  Spread evenly on the baking sheet.  Roast for 35 minutes, flipping once half way through.  Remove from the oven.  Dice up two of the chipotle peppers and the cilantro and sprinkle on top.  Cut the remaining limes into wedges to serve on the side.

 

