Victoria Day in Canada is what Memorial Day is in the U.S., an extra day added on to a May weekend so that you can give summer the proper welcome it deserves.  I had high hopes for this long weekend.  I thought it would be the perfect time for a family trip out to the mountains, even if only for a day, to get in a hike and some fresh mountain air.   By Wednsday I was running a fever and completely congested.  Not only was I sick, but both girls were too.  I feared the weekend was going to be a bust.

We thought we would just play it by ear and do whatever we were up for, which turned out to be not very much.  I stayed in bed most of the weekend.  I must say I did have an incredible view though.  We have a couple of beautiful trees in our front yard that bloom at this time every year.

We were able to catch the eclipse on Sunday.  We could only see a partial eclipse from our house.  We bought some eclipse viewing shades from the local science museum and gathered on the back deck to watch in awe as the moon cast it’s shadow over the sun. It is hard to believe that the next time a solar eclipse is visible here my babies will be teenagers!

To finish off the weekend we had a little family celebration for Kaya’s 6 month birthday.  Since she is not old enough to eat cake, I just made my all time favorite cake, a carrot bundt with no icing.  I must have been the weirdest kid on my block growing up.  All of the other kids I knew wanted chocolate or white cake with lots of colorful sugary icing, but I always just wanted my grandmother to make me a carrot cake.  She never did the cream cheese icing, so I still prefer it without.

I did not use my grandmother’s recipe, but the one I used I think is just as lovely and just about as guilt free as a cake can be.  It is whole grain and has no sugar at all, using only bananas and dates to give it a mild sweetness.  I got this recipe from the blog 101 Cookbooks.  I am completely obsessed with this blog!  The writing and photography are both top notch, and every one of Heidi’s recipes I have tried has turned out perfect.  Besides the carrot cake recipe here, I especially love Lemony Olive Oil Banana Bread, it is my go to banana bread recipe.

 

