Tags

, , , , ,

Matt and I work very well around the house together, and we both have unspoken responsibilities.  When he told me that he was leaving for two weeks for a work field trip to Utah a mere five days prior, I was really happy for him, but also filled with anxiety.  I began think of all of the things I would be left to do on my own like make the morning coffee (I can hardly get out of bed without knowing that it is waiting for me), take out the trash (men’s work!), feed the dogs, and somehow juggle cooking dinner and keeping both girls happy at the same time.  This last one is particularly important.  Each day when Matt comes home from work, he takes the kids and I finally get a few quiet moments to myself to do one of my favorite things, cook.

I am happy to say that Matt will be back in only a couple of days, and no one has starved.  In fact it has been smooth sailing around here.  I even survived my first day as teacher’s helper at Minda’s co-op preschool. Yep, I am feeling a surge of confidence and independence for sure!  I have been giving myself a bit of a break in the dinner department though to make things a little easier in the evenings.  I made this chickpea salad for dinner one night and had the leftover the next day for lunch. I love the flavor combination of the tangy lime dressing with the earthiness of the chickpeas. If you need a quick meal that is tasty and healthy, then give this salad a shot.  It can also be made ahead of time, and is perfect for an autumn picnic.  It comes together in under 10 minutes, and is great served wrapped up in a big wheat tortillas and topped with avocado.

Jalapeno-Lime Chickpea Salad

1 clove garlic, minced

Juice of 2 limes

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

2 tablespoons plain greek yogurt

1 teaspoon ground cumin

3  cups cooked chickpeas(2 15oz cans), drained and rinsed

1 large carrot, grated

1 jalapeno, finely diced

1 bell pepper, whatever color you fancy, diced

4 scallions, finely chopped

1 handful cilantro, coarsely chopped

 

In a large serving bowl whisk together the first seven ingredients to make the dressing.  Add the remaining ingredients to the bowl and toss.  Serve alongside a main dish or wrap up in a tortillas topped with slices of avocado (recommended method!).

XX-Jenny

Similar but different:

chickpea tacos with citrus slaw  Jalepeno and Lime Guacamole  Poblano and Corn Empanadas

 

