It has been a few weeks since my last post and lots has happened.  I turned another year older and hopefully wiser.  I have been so busy painting some new and custom pieces for Opal & Eve (feeling so happy for this).  We have also had kids birthday parties, halloween parties, school and gymnastics.  Yep, I am officially a taxi mom, at least for the time being.  All of this is soon going to change.  More on that soon.

This Kale salad is nothing special, but I feel like when I have a lot going on, and the stress in my life is high, the least I can do for myself is fill my body with nutritous food to keep it as healthy as possible.  This salad fits the bill,  the Kale and dressing are the stars.  I added in avocado, apricots, and toasted almonds, but you could experiment with any combo, I think that cranberries and pistachios would be great too, or some roasted beets and oranges.

Kale Salad with Garlicky Lemon Dressing

Garlicky Lemon Dressing

  • ¼ cup fresh lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
  • ¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 medium sized cloves of garlic, minced
  • Salt and pepper

Combine all the ingredients in a glass jar and shake to combine

For the salad:

  • 1 Bunch Kale
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 10 dried apricots
  • 1 large hass avocado, thinly sliced
  • ¼ cup almonds, toasted
  • ¼ cup crumbled goat cheese or feta

Place the kale in a large bowl, drizzle with olive oil and massage the oil into the kale.  Let the kale sit for about 15 minutes then pour the dressing over and toss to coat.  Spread the remaining ingredients evenly over the top of the salad and serve.

XX-Jenny

Similar but different:

Beet and Clementine Salad  Potato Pie Stars  Jalapeno-Lime Chickpea Salad Wrap

