Tags

, ,

Roasted Spagetti Squash with Pesto

Hi Y’all!  Since finishing my 3 day detox, I have really been paying much more attention to what I am putting in my body.  I have still been avoiding the gluten and dairy for the most part, and just trying to eat clean food with really simple ingredients.

I have a pot on my front patio that is just overflowing with mint and basil right now.  The mint is starting to bolt, and I figure the basil is not too far behind, so I wanted to make good use of it while I can.  I would typically just throw it on a pizza like this one, or toss it with some whole wheat pasta.  To avoid all of that wheat, I decided to try it with spaghetti squash.

Roasted Squash W Pesto 040

I have to be honest, in the past I have tried a few spaghetti squash recipes, but none have really been worth repeating.  I think I finally found a keeper with this one though.  The secret is in the sauce.  Mainly it is the preparation that makes it stand out from your average pesto.  I crushed the basil up with some coarse sea salt in my mortar and pestle, and just finished it off with a few cloves of garlic, a squirt of lemon, and a couple of heaping tablespoons of olive oil.  I don’t know what it is about the mortar and pestle that makes the pesto taste so much better, but since I tried it, I have never gone back to my old method of using a food processor.

This makes a really filling lunch for two, or it would be lovely as a side for a big dinner.

Ingredients:

  • one medium spaghetti squash
  • 2 big handfuls of fresh basil (about 2 cups)
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • coarse sea salt (Celtic or Himalayan)
  • Slice of lemon

Pre-heat your oven to 400°F.  Cut the squash in half lengthwise.  Drizzle on about a tablespoon of olive oil and dust with salt and pepper.  Bake for 45 minutes.Roasted Squash W Pesto1

While the squash is cooking it is time to prepare your pesto.

Roasted Squash W Pesto 060

Put the basil and 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt into the mortar. crush it up just enough to make room for the rest of the ingredients.

Pesto1

Add the garlic, a couple of heaping tablespoons of olive oil, and a squirt of lemon.  Continue to mash it up until it is a nice consistency like this:

Pesto2

Once the squash is a nice golden brown, remove from the oven and allow to cool for about 10 minutes.  Then run a fork lengthwise across the flesh making “spaghetti”

Roasted Spagetti Squash

Divide the pesto between the two halves and toss to coat.

Roasted Spagetti Squash with Basil Pesto

Enjoy!

XX-Jenny

Similar but Different:

Game Day Vegetarian Chili  Quinoa and Poblano Stuffed Acorn Squash  Arugula Pesto Pizza

