Tags

, , ,

Potato Salad

I am sitting in bed typing up this post as I sip away on my second cup of coffee.  It is really the first time I have had to myself all week and I am reveling in it!  The girls meanwhile are learning what sleeping in on Saturday is all about.  All week long we have been up early (for us anyway), rushing around to get ready to drop Minda off at school on time.  This first week of school has made me realize two things.  First of all, I am not a morning person, or maybe I am, but I like mornings to be relaxing. Second, I am going to be doing this shuttle mom gig for another 15 years or so.  Seeing Minda light up each day when I pick her up, and hearing her gush about how much fun she had at school makes it totally worth it though!

Since it is Labor Day weekend I thought I would let you in on my favorite potato salad recipe.  It is not your traditional mayo and pickle filled stuff, but I promise if you take it to a barbeque there will be nothing left but the bowl!

You will need:

  • 2 lbs small red potatoes
  • 1/2 small red onion, chopped
  • 2 bell peppers, chopped
  • 1 cup corn (I used frozen)
  • 1/2 cup plain non-fat yogurt
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon chipotle chili flakes
  • 1 handful of cilantro, chopped

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Add the potatoes and boil for 15 minutes.  Drain the potatoes, rinse with cold water, and set aside.  Preheat oven to 400.  Spread out the onion, corn, and bell pepper on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Let roast in the oven for 15 minutes.  While the veggies are roasting, whisk together the yogurt, garlic, cumin, chili powder, and chipotle flakes in a large bowl.  Cut the potatoes into quarters and add to the bowl.  After the veggies are done add them to the bowl too and toss it all together until it is evenly coated.  Top with cilantro.

Spicy Potato and Corn Salad

Y’all have a great Labor Day!

XX-Jenny

Similar but different:

Greek Pasta Salad 030  Potato Pie Stars  Corn and Black Bean Salad

