Tags

, , ,

Homemade Belly Butter

There are lots of different methods to avoiding stretch marks out there.  Everything from miracle creams to just not scratching your really itchy and rapidly expanding bump claim to keep stretch marks away.  I really wish that I could say that I have found some secret weapon against stretch marks. I would patent it and retire a rich lady, and finally everyone would go through pregnancy without nary a line.

Unfortunately that is not the case here (so sorry!).  The whole scratching thing is really just an old wives tale, and stretch marks are going to pop up on some pregnant bellies due to factors including heredity and the rate the belly expands no matter what products are used.  I guess I have been lucky so far to not have any stretch marks or scars yet.  I am sure I owe some of this to genetics, but I also try to pace my weight gain, and just take extra care of the skin on my belly by smoothing this homemade belly butter on after I hop out of the tub.  It makes my skin extra soft.

The main ingredients I use in my belly butter are coconut oil, shea butter, and cocoa butter, which are all great for moisturizing. I also add rosehip seed oil which contains both anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidant properties, making it great for stretch marks, scars, and eczema (read more about rosehip seed oil here).  My skin is extra sensitive and eczema prone, and I have fallen completely in love with my rosehip oil as a face moisturizer too.

If I do get a few stretch marks, I will remind myself that it is something to be proud of.  Pregnancy and the power of the body is a miracle in itself, and not to mention the little baby at the end that makes it totally worth any scars!

All Natural Belly Butter Ingredients

You will need:

  • 4oz Coconut Oil
  • 4oz Cocoa Butter
  • 2oz Shea Butter
  • 1oz Rosehip Seed Oil

Belly Butter In Progress

Heat the coconut oil, cocoa butter, and shea butter together in a double broiler over medium heat.  As it is melting, gently break apart the large clumps and stir until everything is liquid and looks like this:

Belly Butter Melted oils

Remove the bowl from the top of the double broiler and allow to cool for 5 minutes.  Add in the rosehip seed oil and whisk it all together for about least ten seconds. Cover with plastic wrap and allow to set over night.  Come back in the morning and give it a good whip with a hand blender or an electric mixer to whip it up.  Now the belly butter is ready to store in a jar or whatever container you have handy.

To use the belly butter, rub a small amount between your palms to melt and rub onto skin right after bathing.  Enjoy your glowing growing belly!

XX-Jenny

Similar but Different:

Castile Soap  Hair 009  32 Weeks Pregnant

