Tags

, ,

Texitarian Kitchen Fish Tacos

All my strict vegetarian readers, please forgive me ahead of time and avert your eyes as necessary.  You may have guessed from the title that this post is not a meatless one.  It seems that pregnancy has brought out a new love for fish for me.  It is seriously my biggest craving these days, and if the baby needs the extra omega-3’s for her rapidly developing brain, then I am happy to oblige.

Remember how I made this Thai Buddha Bowl from Tone it Up last week?  I couldn’t wait to try out this sauce in some other ways, and I thought it could take typical coleslaw to a whole new level.  I used it here to top off some quick and easy cod tacos.  The spicy slaw was a great accompaniment to the mild white fish.  I will say that the recipe makes more slaw than the tacos need, but it is one of those things that will hold up in the fridge for a few days, and makes a healthy snack.

Fish Tacos with Thai Buddha Slaw-makes 4 servings

  • 1 pound wild caught Pacific Cod
  • 1 handful cilantro
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • juice from 1 lime
  • 1/2 head green cabbage
  • 5 large carrots
  • Thai Buddha Sauce
  • Corn Tortillas

Cod in Cilantro Lime Marinade

Preheat oven to 375°.  Place the cilantro, garlic, olive oil, and lime juice in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth.  Place the fish in a bowl and coat with the mixture to marinate while you prepare the slaw.

For the slaw, pulse the cabbage and carrots in a food processor until diced.  Place in a bowl and toss with the Thai Buddha Sauce.

Place the cod on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes, or until the fish flakes easily with a fork.  If you are using store bought tortillas, wrap 8 tortillas in foil and let warm in the oven while the fish is cooking for the last 10 minutes.

Prepare the tacos by flaking the fish into chunks, serve on warm tortillas with the Thai Buddha Slaw.

Cod for Fish Tacos

Fish Tacos with Thai Buddha Slaw

I am feeling great days.  I am about to start the third trimester this week, and I cannot believe how fast this pregnancy is flying by.  I feel lucky that I have been craving mostly healthy and nutrient rich food, and I hope that it continues through the next three months.

XX-Jenny

Similar But Different:

Roasted Chickpea Tacos  Thai Budda Bowl  Kale Salad with Garlicky Lemon Dressing

