Tags

, , , ,

Vegan Pad Thai

There are those days that it takes everything for me to stop long enough to eat a spoonful of almond butter and a banana for lunch.  I read this article, The Truth About Having a Third Child, a couple of days ago.  Most of it is over the top silly, but there is definitely an underlying truth to the story about the overstressed pregnant mother to two little girls.

I am not even kidding.  I started this post a week ago.  The same day I felt motivated enough to make this Pad Thai style Noodle bowl. The noodles were delicious and filling if I do recall correctly.  I however didn’t bother to write down the measurements for some of the veggies in the stir fry, so that part of the recipe is all from memory.  It is a scientific fact the memory of a pregnant brain is notorious for it’s forgetfulness, so if you get a chance to make this, be sure to let me know how it turns out!

The sauce part is totally spot on though.  I cannot say enough about how yummy the sauce is.  I am really into Thai sauces these days if you haven’t noticed.  I used PB2 because I had some sitting in the pantry, and I really like regular peanut butter better for most things.  The PB2 did work great for this though.  If you want to use it instead of natural peanut butter, just add an equal amount of water.

Purple Cabbage and Shredded Carrots

Pad Thai Wok

Stir Fried Veggie Pad Thai with Peanut Sauce-makes 2 large servings

for the peanut sauce:

  • 1/4 cup tamari
  • 5 pitted Medjool dates
  • 2 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 1 thumb sized piece fresh ginger, peeled
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • Juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 Thai Chili

Place all ingredients in a blender and process until smooth

  • 8 oz brown rice noodles (i used angel hair)
  • 1 cup shelled frozen edamame
  • 1 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 2 carrots, grated
  • 2 cups purple cabbage
  • 2 green onions
  • 1 1/4 cup dry roasted peanuts
  • 1 handful cilantro, coarsley chopped

Bring 4 quarts of water to a boil in a large stockpot.  Add in the rice noodles and edamame.  Cook for 6 minutes.  Drain and rinse with cold water.

While the noodles and edamame are boiling, heat olive oil in a wok or large skillet over medium high heat.  Stir fry the carrots, cabbage and green onions for about 5 minutes.  Toss in the noodles, edamame and peanut sauce, stirring until everything is well coated in the sauce.  Divide the noodles up between a couple of large bowls and top with the cilantro and peanuts.

Healthy Pad Thai Bowl

Minda Using Her Chopstick Skills

Now time to work on my Pre-K lesson of the day:  how to eat noodles with chopsticks!

XO-Jenny

