Tags

, , , , ,

Ruby Red Grapefruit Salad

Spring is here! Spring is here!  Can I get a hallelujah?!  This has been the longest and coldest Texas winter in my memory, and I am so ready to bid it adios.  I am excited for the longer warm days so we can really get outside and soak up the sun.  After a long morning of playing outside, nothing is more refreshing to me than a big cold salad.

This one really just sprung from whatever I had in the fridge.  Grapefruits don’t typically make their way into our house.  When I caught them on special at Sprouts this week for 5 for $1, I decided I had to give them a fair chance to become something more than the sour and mediocre fruit I take them for.  I tossed one up in a garlic lime vinaigrette and some avocados and toasted sunflower seeds.  By far the tastiest way I have prepared it so far.

My kids were really excited too when I announced that we were having grapefruit salad for lunch, but then were a little confused as to why when they were served the salad it was not loaded with grapes and fruit.  They dug right in anyway, always living on the adventurous side of life!

Dig into Ruby Red Salad this Spring

  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 cups baby spring mix
  • 1 pink grapefruit, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 avocado, cut into chunks
  • 1/4 cup dry roasted sunflower seed (or freshly toasted raw)

In a large bowl, whisk together the lime juice, garlic, and olive oil.  Add in the lettuce and toss.  Top with the remaining ingredients.

Ruby Red Grapefruit and Avocado Salad Square

Wow, that was easy.  It is definitely in the running for shortest recipe directions ever.  So refreshing and pretty too!  If you are not a huge fan of grapefruit, you could use blood oranges or any other citrus fruit you like.

Have a lovely first day of Spring (or fall if you are on the other side of the equator)!

XO-Jenny

