Tags

, , , ,

Get your margarita maker and maracas ready, Cinco de Mayo is only a matter of DAYS away!  Exciting I know!

I could give you a dozen or even a hundred great recipes to add to your fiesta, but really you only need a few good ones, so I am just dropping my top five here.  They are all healthy and vegetarian, so you can feel less guilty about stuffing your face, and save a larger calorie allowance for those tequila laden frozen treats!

Healthy Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

First up, make these Baked Huevo Rancheros for a breakfast kick-off.  Serve them with a tequila sunrise if you like.

Baked Rancher's Eggs

Make a a couple of sauces to use for snacking, chip dipping, and general taco topping throughout the day.  Salsa Verde is mandatory here, along with some Guacamole.

Salsa Verde

3 Ingredient Guacamole

Borracho Beans are the perfect accompaniment for anything Mexican, so start the night before by soaking the beans and start them early in the day.

Borracho Beans

My healthy Chile Rellenos are by far the most popular recipe on the blog, and one of my personal favorite foods ever. There is no better time to make them than Cinco de Mayo.

Vegetarian Chile Rellenos

Last but certainly not least are the Sweet Potato Tacos.  I make homemade black bean tortillas to go with mine, making them truly a labor of love, but feel free to sub pre-made corn or flour tortillas for this one if necessary (no judgement here).

Sweet Potato Tacos in Black Bean Tortillas

So that is my short list, and a total of six because I like to give bonuses.  So let me know what you will be doing on this all important American holiday, I would love to hear about it!

XO-Jenny

 

 

