Tags

, , , , , , ,

Favorite Kale Salad

When I go to a restaurant and fall in love with a dish, my first inclination is to go home and recreate it.  When Matt took me out to a fancy dinner at his favorite steak house, Houston’s, I did not expect to find inspiration for a kale salad with a Thai flair.  That is exactly what happened though.  I had it as a side with some decent white fish, and it left me wishing that it was the main course.  It was definitely the star of my plate.  When I commented to the waitress about the deliciousness that was the kale salad, she told me it had “a little mint, a little cilantro.”  I used this as my jumping off point for my own version.  Something I have now been making for a couple of months.  It is high time I share the love with you, friends.

Houston's Kale Salad

This is one of those salads that you can make at night and take for a desk lunch the next day, for several days.  The longer the veggies can sit there soaking up the dressing, the better it gets.  The peanuts add the perfect amount of salty crunch to the mix, and along with the edamame, add enough protein to make this a main course worthy salad.  Please don’t be intimidated by the long list of ingredients, the first 8 go in the blender really quick to make the most delicious Thai inspired dressing.

Kale and Peanut Salad

Favorite Asian Kale Salad-makes 4 servings

  • 1/4 cup cilantro leaves
  • 2 tbsp fresh mint leaves
  • 1 thumb sized piece fresh ginger (about 2 tbsp)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoons toasted sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon tamari
  • 4 cups baby kale
  • 2 cup shredded cabbage
  • 1 cup grated carrot
  • 3 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup shelled cooked edamame
  • 11/2 cup roasted salted peanuts

Put the cilantro, mint, ginger, garlic, rice vinegar, olive oil, sesame oil, and tamari in a blender and puree.  Put the remaining ingredients in a large Tupperware type container and pour the dressing on top.  Put the lid on and give it a good shake.  Pop it in the fridge for at least an hour, or even overnight.

Favorite Kale Salad SQ

XO-Jenny

