Tags

, , , , , , , ,

40 weeks pregnant

Hi Y’all!  I am officially a member of the overdue pregnant ladies club!   Yesterday was my due date, and instead of being cuddled up with a new little bundle of joy, I spent the day hanging out poolside with my girls.  This past week I have been trying just about all of the tricks that are supposed to cause you to go into labor.  Walking, swimming, and eating pineapple.  Lots and lots of pineapple!   I wouldn’t say all of these efforts have done nothing at all for me though.  I am quite a bit tanner, and feeling pretty fit considering my current condition.  And to make things sweeter, I have come up with my new go to green monster for the summer: Let me introduce you to the Pineapple, Aloe and Kale Smoothie.

Pineapple and Aloe Green smoothie

So refreshing, tropical, and absolutely nourishing!  I feel more exotic just thinking about drinking it.

Did you know that pineapples contain an enzyme, Bromelian, that has numerous health benefits, including the side effect of possibly jump-starting labor. I didn’t either, and I am doubting it’s effectiveness, but pineapple is delicious regardless.  Now I know you might be thinking “Aloe? like the stuff you put on a sunburn?”  Yes!  Aloe isn’t just for topical application, but it has a wide array of holistic medicinal uses; everything from aiding in digestion to balancing the immune system.  Do I really need to go on about the kale because we all know that kale is pretty much the healthiest thing on the planet, and the banana is for extra potassium and of course for sweetness.

Refreshing Pineapple and Aloe Smoothie

 Pinapple, Aloe, and Kale Smoothie-makes 1 quart

  • 1 cup fresh diced pineapple
  • 1 banana (the riper the better)
  • 1 big handful baby kale
  • 1 cup aloe vera juice

Pineapple Kale and Aloe in the Blender

Place all of the ingredients in a blender.

Smoothie with Pineapple Kale and Aloe

Blend until smooth,

Pineapple and aloe green monster

Drink it up!

I am hoping that I will be sharing all those obnoxious newborn photos with you soon, or I could just stay pregnant forever…

XO-Jenny

 

