Tags

, , , ,

Simple Pasta with Blistered Tomatoes and Basil Pesto

Hi Y’all!  Tomorrow our baby, Georgia, will be five weeks old.  I cannot even begin to tell you how wonderful and stressful the past month has been.  Taking care of a four year old, two year old, and a newborn is a challenging adventure everyday.  Some days the house gets cleaned, a healthy dinner is on the table at night, and everyone is serenely happy.  Then there are the days when we order pizza and I don’t even manage to make time to brush my teeth.  And I never know which one of these scenarios is going to play out from day to day.  We are just winging it at this point.  And that’s okay.

On the nights where I am able to throw together a quick meal, I usually just have to work with whatever is on hand.  Trips to the grocery store can be painful, so they have become few and far between.  I always keep some staples in my pantry like rice, beans, and pasta to get me through in a pinch.  This is one of those meals I can make when I have little time to prepare or cook, and as a bonus, it uses up some of my garden bssil.  This particular night I just happened to have pistachios on hand which I threw in the pesto.  You MUST try this, it’s completely mind blowing!  You will be putting this pesto on everything for the rest of the summer.

Garden Basil Pistachio Pesto

For the pesto:

  • 2 packed cups fresh basil leaves
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 handful of pistachios
  • Juice from ½ lemon
  • Sea salt and fresh cracked black pepper to taste

Place all ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth.

For the pasta:

  • 12 oz whole wheat pasta (I used spaghetti, but whatever you like will work)
  • 1 pint grape tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup basil pesto (see above)
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan

Cook you pasta according to the package directions.  While it is boiling away, heat your olive oil in a large sautee pan over medium high heat.  Add the tomatoes and roll them around ever couple of minutes until they are blistered looking like this

Blistered Tomatoes

Add the pasta and pesto to the pan and gently toss it all together.  Top with the Parmesan.  Serve it with some crusty bread because we all know that is the best part of pasta night!

Pasta with basil pesto and blistered tomatoes

XO-Jenny

 

