Tags

, ,

Beet Pasta

Howdy folks! I have to admit that there are so many vegetables that I have only discovered since getting into cooking. I guess my parents weren’t on a mission to expand my palette by introducing some of the more strongly flavored veggies as a child. I, however, being such a wild and free spirit have ventured to try just about anything I can find in the produce section. Some foods have been added to my dislikes list (parsnips, I’m talking bout you!) while I have totally fallen for others (Arugula, where have you been all my life?). Beets fall into this latter category. I find their earthy flavor simply unbeatable (cheesy pun intended). Goat cheese is also one of my “grown up discoveries” and I love how the tang can liven up a dish.

This recipe involves both beets (greens included) and goat cheese with the comforting familiarity of pasta, a childhood favorite. This dish is incredibly easy to throw together as well. Perfect for a quick weeknight dinner to make for your kids in order to expand their palette!

20140806-123535-45335314.jpg

Linguine with Beets, Goat Cheese and Walnuts-makes 4 servings

  • 1 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 bunch of beets with greens, separated and beets diced.
  • 1 lemon, zest removed and juiced
  • 12 oz whole wheat linguine
  • 12 ounces crumbled goat cheese

Heat a large (12+ inch) skillet over medium heat.  Add the walnuts and toast, stirring occasionally, for about 5 minutes.  Set the walnuts aside in a bowl.

20140806-123536-45336033.jpg

Add the olive oil the the skillet and add the beets.  Cook, stirring occasionally for eight minutes.

20140806-123536-45336966.jpg

Add the garlic and onion to the pan and continue cooking for 6 minutes, stirring often.

20140806-123536-45336480.jpg

In the meantime start the pasta and remove the beet greens from the stems and coarsely chop the greens.

Add the greens, lemon zest and juice to the skillet, give it a good stir and reduce heat to low while the pasta finishes up.  Reserve a cup of the pasta water before draining.  Add the pasta and 1/2 a cup of the pasta water to the beet mixture and stir until well combined.  Add more of the pasta water if it is too dry.  Plate it up and top with goat cheese and walnuts.

Linguine with Beets and Goat Cheese

So delish!

XO-Jenny

 

 

 

 

 

 

