Tags

, , ,

Peach and Arugula Pizza

Hi y’all! I realize that my posts have been few and far between. I hate when people go on about how busy they are because let’s be honest, who isn’t busy! I will say I also believe that we all have time for the things we make time for, and I just haven’t made blogging my priority lately. With little miss Georgia hitting new milestones every day, I would hate to miss a single toothless grin or coo.

The thing is though, I love blogging. I love the journal aspect of it. I can look back on my posts and know what was going on in my life at any given time through what I have written here. It’s my little family history book, and I want to keep that up so that the girls can look at it one day and see the evolution of our family too. I also hope that they may even one day be ambitious enough to cook one of the recipes!

This recipe is one of my favorites! I love pizza of all sorts, just look at the evidence here, here, and here. This one just happens to include one of my summer favorites, peaches. Nothing spells summer like a ripe juicy peach! I especially love them cooked so that the juices begin to caramelize, they are like natures perfect candy. The peaches sweetness plays so nicely with the peppery arugula, tangy blue cheese, and balsamic vinegar here too, It is a simply amazing flavor combo. I always make my own pizza crust, it is really east to throw together if you have a stand mixer, but it you find the whole yeast dough thing a bit intimidating, feel free to use a pre-made crust.  It would also be amazing on a tart pastry similar to this pear tart.

Peach Pizza

For the Whole Wheat Pizza Dough:

  • 2 ½  teaspoons yeast
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 2 ½ cups whole wheat flour, plus extra if needed
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil plus more for greasing the bowl
  • ½ teaspoon salt

In the bowl of a stand mixer with dough hook attachment, combine the yeast, honey, and hot water.  Stir for a couple of seconds to combine and let sit until frothy (about 5 minutes).  Add the olive oil, flour, and salt.  Turn the mixer on to speed 2 and let mix for 2 minutes.  The dough should come together and clean the sides of the bowl, but if it is too wet at this time, slowly add flour until this happens.  Let the mixer knead the dough on speed 2 for 3 more minutes.  Alternatively, if you do not have a stand mixer, follow the instructions above stirring until the dough begins to come together, and then hand knead the dough on a lightly floured surface for 7 minutes.  Lightly grease the bowl and a sheet of plastic wrap large enough to cover the bowl.  Return the dough to the bowl and cover with the plastic wrap.  Leave in a warm place to rise for 1 hour.

For the Peach Pizza:

  • Whole Wheat Dough (above)
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup grated mozzarella
  • 1 peach, thinly sliced
  • 2 ounces crumbled Gorgonzola
  • 1/2 cup good balsamic vinegar
  • 1 handful arugula

Preheat oven to 450°.  Lightly grease a pizza pan or cookie sheet with about a teaspoon of the olive oil.  Roll out your pizza dough to fit your pan or until the dough is stretched thin.  Brush the dough with the tablespoon of olive oil.  Next layer on the cheese, then peach slices, and top it off with the Gorgonzola.  Pop it in the oven to cook for about 10 minutes until it starts to bubble in the middle(keep an eye on it).  While the pizza is cooking, bring the balsamic vinegar to a simmer in a small sauce pan over medium low heat stirring frequently to reduce.  Remove to pizza from the oven, sprinkle around the arugula, and to top it off, drizzle with the reduced balsamic vinegar.

Peach Pizza  with Arugula, Gorgonzola, and Balsamic Drizzle

and as a foot note, I have to include a photo of the sweetest Georgia peach of them all!

Georgia 2 months

XO-Jenny

 

 

 

