Tags

, ,

With 2015 on the horizon, I have been thinking a lot about what I want to accomplish this year.  I would love to grow the blog to include my musings on design and fashion, while still posting the occasional food post.  I also want to focus on simplifying other areas of my life, starting with my wardrobe.

You see, I am a bargain whore.  I tend to buy thing based on the fact that something is a good deal, not based on need, or even because I love an item.  This has left me with a wardrobe of pieces that I feel mostly meh about.  I really want to change that this year, and really forever.

I recently came across the concept on Pinterest of the five piece French Wardrobe. It is based on the way that French women have been shopping forever.  You build a wardrobe of high quality basics, and every season (as in twice a year), you are allowed to buy 5 pieces that are trendier or infuse some personality to your wardrobe. My new rule is, if I don’t absolutely L.O.V.E. love it, I don’t buy it, no matter how much of a bargain it is.

At the core of this concept is having a really good set of basics..

Minimalist Wardrobe Basics

I am first and foremost a mommy, so I tailored my list of basics to my mostly casual lifestyle.

1. T-shirts in black, grey and white

3.  Some great go with everything jeans.  I am including a dark denim wash, black and white on my must have list

4.  A cashmere sweater

5.  A wool blazer

7.  A leather moto jacket

8.  A little black dress

9.  Shoes including, booties, sneakers and a pair of black pumps.

10.  A great watch and leather handbag

Luckily, I own most of these items, except for the black dress, so there is very little investment to get started on it.  Of course I have a few more items in my closet that I plan to keep as well, but these are the things that are go with everything essentials for me.

Even though it may seem boring to dress in neutral basics everyday, I love the simplicity of it, and I can always zhush things up with some great accessories.

I am really excited to about this experiment, I just hope I am able to stick to my guns, and not give into buying things because they are a “good deal.”  I am also looking forward to finding my five treasures I cant live without each season.

What do you think about this?  Would a minimalist wardrobe work for you?

