Tags

, , , ,

 

We are finally getting settled into our new place. The past week has been a whirlwind of painting, packing, moving and more painting. I am about this close to burnout, so much that the kitchen has been half painted for the past five days. That’s trivial though, the real pain about this move is having to clean our rental post move out. And I discovered our chihuahua, Lacy, has a thing for taking wine corks under the bed and tearing them into 967 pieces. It is almost enough to make me stop drinking wine all together, almost.

So you have seen the plan for the living room and dining room, so moving right along to the kitchen.  Here is what we are working with…

13032714_5 13032714_4 Open floorplan from the living room into the kitchen, formal din Classic styling in this open floorplan living area. See the kitc

More arsenic washed walls, but I see a small glimmer of potential. The cabinets and appliances are fairly new, and are there to say, but there are a few changes in store to make it my dream kitchen.  I think one of the reasons that I have not been inspired to cook lately is because of our tiny galley kitchen in the old house. The new kitchen is wide open to the living room, so it has to be FABULOUS!

This is direction we are planning on going in..

fisher-paykel-range-stickley-IMG_4553

Blog-Isabella-Favaro-AyA-Kitchens-Baths-Reno-bar-sink-stickley-IMG_4552 Blog-Isabella-Favaro-AyA-Kitchens-Baths-Reno-bookcase-stickley-IMG_4551 Blog-Isabella-Favaro-AyA-Kitchens-Baths-Reno-kitchenaltshot-stickley-IMG_4547

-Images Via

The turquoise walls are getting a nice coat of crisp white paint as we speak. Hopefully those cabinets will be getting gussied up by going a dark and moody charcoal gray, topped off with some delicious new brass hardware.  A subway tile backsplash with contrasting gray grout is going to grace the spot where that huge and happy sun behind the stove is.  We went back and forth on whether to paint the uppers white, but in the end we decided that even though we like the look, painting all of the cabinets one color would look best in our kitchen, mostly because of we couldn’t figure out what color to paint those floor to top spots around the fridge and oven. We also nixed the idea of open shelving because I despise dusting, so I am not going to make any decision that requires more than I already have. A couple of the cabinets have picture frame glass, so I can show off some of my prized dish hoard.

I might add a runner to the space too a Kilim or Persian number, I am waiting for something to catch my eye and fit into my budget, which is basically about five dollars.

So that’s it, one dream kitchen in the works. Hopefully I will have some progress pics to come soon, but right now it looks like a tornado has just blown through here. I must go and paint, clean, catch up on 10 loads of laundry. Later taters!

 

2063d-signature

 

