Tags

,

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.  When I wake up food is usually one of the first things I think about, that and coffee.  I usually want something light and slightly sweet for breakfast, and I am always trying to make breads and pastries that are a little healthier than the norm.   I really like muffins because there are so many combos of fruit, nuts, and grains that could work.  I recently found some blue cornmeal at the market when I was trying to find some masa, and decided to buy it on impulse, unsure of what to make with it.  Of course cornbread would be the obvious choice, and I really like cornbread when it has a bit of sweetness to it, so I thought why not use the blue cornmeal and make beautiful blue corn muffins with blueberries.  These muffins are not only pretty, but also delicious with a mild sweetness and a slightly crunchy texture.  I used agave nectar which is a great option for baking.  It is an all natural and sweeter than refined sugar so you can use less of it, it is also great for sweetening coffee and tea.  You can use fresh or frozen blueberries.  I used frozen berries because I could not find any fresh organic ones.

Blue Corn Blueberry Muffins:  Makes 12 muffins

1 cup blue cornmeal

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup canola oil

1/3 cup agave nectar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 375°.  Lightly oil a 12 cup muffin tin.  In a large bowl, whisk together the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, oil, agave, eggs and vanilla.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until just combined.  Gently fold in the blueberries.  Transfer the batter to the muffin tin.  Bake for 20-25 minutes until the tops are slightly brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Let the muffins cool slightly before removing from the muffin tin.  Devour while warm.

