Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Please excuse the radio silence. I really don’t have much excuse as to why I have quit blogging save for the fact that I have become a manic wanna-be interior decorator and avid furniture collector.  Matt is just about ready to submit me for hoarders as it gets more and more difficult to actually walk through our garage each week.

We have been in our house over 7 months now, and looking back at the old MLS picture from when we purchased the house, even I can hardly believe it is the same room!

Here was what we started with:

The oak paneling, and brown brick fireplace made the windowless space really dark and heavy.  The grey floor and the wood walls also clashed in the worst of ways and I was convinced we needed new flooring, but honestly after we got everything painted white, the floor was much less offensive! We painted the entire space Benjamin Moore’s Cloud White prior to moving in with a paint sprayer.  Which instantly made the room feel bigger and more contemporary!

We painted the French doors and back of the built in bookcase Benjamin Moore’s Onyx to provide a dramatic contrast, and of course I wanted the room to match Lacy the mutt.  Can you even find her below?  It is like playing Where’s Waldo!

Most of the other stuff in the room is stuff we had in our last house.  The rug and sectional are both ikea.

The pair of antique French cane chairs were a lucky thrift store find that I painstakingly reupholstered myself.  I love the mix of the antique chairs with the more modern elements in the room.

The console table is vintage Pace Collection, and probably my favorite thing in the space.  The artwork is by me and the coral side table is Nate Berkus for Target.

There are still a few tweaks left to do.  We are planning on switching out the mantle and tiling a marble surround similar to this:

Via Bliss at Home

I am also hoping to update the ceiling fan with this light:

Swwooon!  It might take some convincing with the hubs because it is obviously not as practical as a fan would be in these Texas summers, but the fan that is here is not even working!

I have been working hard on the rest of the house too, and will be back to share more progress this week!

