Tags

, ,

If you have ever tried Green & Black’s Maya Gold chocolate then you know how delicious dark chocolate with orange and spices can be.  I really wanted to recreate this in brownie form.  This recipe actually started out as a fail, but ended up great.  You see a couple of months ago when Matt decided to get a new coffee grinder I was stoked, not because I was looking forward to grinding coffee in the new grinder, but because it meant I could use the old one to grind up spices and stuff.  Well I had not gotten around to using the old grinder, so when I was coming up with this recipe I thought it would be a genius move to grind up my chocolate in the old coffee grinder, making a homemade organic cocoa powder.  Well I got my chocolate in the grinder and turned it on.  Within seconds it was making the shrillest noise I have heard in a while (and I have a toddler, so that is saying a lot!).   When I opened it up I discovered that the chocolate had knocked off a plastic ring inside of the grinder and ground it up as well, making a chocolate and plastic powder, not so appetizing.  Luckily I had some cocoa powder on hand, and I am never in low supply of bittersweet chocolate, so I was able to continue on and make these amazing and slightly healthier than average brownies.  I really would have loved to have gotten a pretty picture of them for the post, but I cannot resist a warm brownie!

Minda, my best helper

Gluten-free Mexican Brownies with Orange Zest and Pecans

¼ cup cocoa powder

¼ cup brown rice flour

½ cup almond meal

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ cup virgin coconut oil

½ cup organic evaporated cane juice sugar

2 tablespoons brewed coffee or espresso

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

2 eggs, room temperature

4 ounces bittersweet chocolate (70% cocoa), finely chopped

½ tablespoon orange zest, finely grated

¼ cup pecans, coarsely chopped

Preheat oven to 350°.  Line an 8×8 baking pan with parchment paper.  In a medium sized bowl whisk together cocoa powder, rice flour, almond meal, cinnamon, cayenne, salt, and baking soda.  In a small saucepan over medium heat, melt the coconut oil.  Pour coconut oil, sugar, coffee, and vanilla into the bowl of an electric mixer and beat on low speed for about 30 seconds.  Add eggs and beat on low 30 more seconds.  Pour in the dry ingredients and mix on low until just combined.  Remove the bowl from the mixer, and fold in chocolate and orange zest.  Pour the brownie mix into the pan and sprinkle the pecans over the top, pressing slightly into the brownie mix.  Bake for 25 minutes.  After removing from the oven let the brownies cool in the pan for 5 minutes before moving to a wire rack.  Try to let the brownies cool completely before cutting into squares if you want them to look good.  I couldn’t do this last step because I was too anxious to try them when they were still warm and ooey-gooey.

